Blog #7

A day in the life of a medium business owner

For my photo story, I would like to capture a day in the life of a medium business owner. David Schonacher Jr. (yes, my father) started his engineering firm in 2005 with nothing but a computer, a printer and a load of knowledge ready to be put into the world. I hope to capture his daily routine-although it changes a lot- in which he gets up, gets ready, heads to work and has about 100 things to do that day. It is not easy being the president of a medium engineering firm, especially with a reputation as large as his. There is meetings, client contact, drafting, getting his staff on track, stock research, real-estate investments, dinner dates, and much more that goes into running a business. While I know I will not be able to capture his busiest day, I hope to shed some light on exactly what owners of a medium business go through day to day. 

Published by lexischonacher

I am a mass communications major at HCC in Tampa, Florida. I have spent the past six years within the journalism field and fall more in love every day. Becoming the editor of my high school yearbook my Senior year was on of my biggest accomplishments. I look forward to completing my degree and moving up in the world to (hopefully) become an editor of the New York Times newspaper.

2 thoughts on “Blog #7

  1. Hey Lexi, I think this is a great topic to do your photo story on since it’s about your dad’s business, you will have many opportunities to capture a variety of photos and pick out the best ones. It’s also interesting that he works at an engineering firm because we as the reader will find out what the common duties are for an owner of an engineering firm, even though, like you said “it changes a lot” but we’ll still get an idea of what his job entails. It’s great that you included some of the tasks your dad does on at his job in this blog, as this will help when deciding what picture to take. Good luck with your story 3!

    Like

  2. I am very impressed to know how hard work can bring us success. I am sure that your father is a very busy man since he needs to manage the firm. I can’t wait to read the entire story about his routine!

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started